becoming conscious

May 14, 2009 at 5:11 am 1 comment

Waking up from sleep-walking through parenting, repeating old patterns and basically not being who you really are, well, it requires some conscious effort. Here is my current list…

I want to be calm and quiet when Elliott falls or something happens. Reacting doesn’t help. (This is a specific request of his, actually. Oh what a boy he is.)

I want to allow more and interpret, explain, understand less. This habit of “explaining” is for my sake and not all that helpful to them. Allow…watch it unfold.

I want to say “yes” even more, then DO IT immediately, instead of “just let me finish…..”. He is SOOOO patient, really.

And the list goes on…
What are you creating for yourself? Who are you becoming?

When we shed these old patterns of thought, we become our true, fresh, responsive selves. It just feels sooooo good.

Entry filed under: inspiration.

i love big me

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Hannah Gaitten  |  May 14, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    My husband and I were talking thi morning about how our experiences growing up really influence how we parent today, even if it’s in a way we don’t desire. It takes conscious effort to break from the mold that we were raised in.

    I am currently practicing patience and understanding- normally this comes fairly easy to me, but in times when she (and/or I) are very tired and overly cranky, it is difficult for me to be as patient as I desire to be. Noah is developing into this little girl with her own (strong) opinions, but is having difficulty expressing herself and reverts to grunting and “ehhh”ing, which is frustrating for me, but with patience and a calm spirit, I can help her identify her needs and desires and help meet those needs that she has. I have to consciously say, “is it really going to help if I get frustrated, too? She is learning to communicate her needs, and I want to encourage that!” I want to maximize those teachable moments, but I miss the opportunity if I choose to be selfish and get frustrated and impatient with her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



