soothing

May 4, 2009 at 2:31 am 7 comments

I’ve been missing meeting up with you here.
I was up until midnight on Friday night, trying to craft a blog about May Day and it just didn’t flow-boring pics, blah wording. So I deleted it all and went to bed.

My intention is to give something away every weekend, so that you have treats to look forward to. Stay tuned as I find that rhythm. Also, I am moving us over to typepad soon, so that we can enjoy more features. (You may have noticed the blog changed a couple of weeks ago, then changed back. That was me playing.) We will keep you posted before we make the move.

In the meantime::
Here is a book for a give away this week.

picture-2189

The Book of New Family Traditions. How to Create Great Rituals for Holidays and Everyday by Meg Cox

Simply comment on any post this week (we’ll close comments Friday night) and your name will go into the hat. Also, if you recommend this blog to a friend, and they mention your name, your name AND their name will be entered. So you can get lots of chances to win. A fun way to meet all of our needs…you get to play and I get to meet more of you.

In the meantime, welcome to May! Full moon is on May 9th.

We had some sweet papa time this weekend.
picture-2129

picture-2206

picture-2203

You can see that the Ergo still works for our almost four-year old. There is something so sweet about being close, especially as babies become children, exploring the world in their own way and returning back to mama as home-base less and less.

Maybe that is the shift that I’m struggling to adjust to. (Not to mention teething sleepless nights, poor girl.) In this state of discontent, these things have helped:

eat chocolate:: so much chocolate, in fact, that E. smelled a piece of chocolate the other day and said That smells like mama. (Didn’t you know that chocolate gives us the feeling that nursing gives babies as same hormone is released? Makes SO much sense to me. I’m making up for what was missing in infancy.)

see the good:: those chubby baby legs, spring happening in the garden, remarkable friends who inspire and understand, a sister learning nvc and passing that along, blossoming Feeleez work, and so so much more.

laugh:: comforting scared Elliott in bed, encouraging him to say OM to surround himself with love and keep the monsters away and he says you mean OM-grrrrrrr, OM-grrrrrr.

Then, I read this:

Soothing ourselves is not about making ourselves feel more comfortable. It is about supporting ourselves through every experience.

This means feeling our feelings, trying not to change them, avoiding making up stories about what’s happening, letting feelings come and go in waves, letting experiences have their way with you without resistence, drawing and journaling to give feelings more space in your awareness, being attentive to what is happening. Read more here. Hmmm. That’s a little different than what I’ve been doing.

Oh yes. So, so much to learn. But I’m still going to eat chocolate!

Entry filed under: family life, giveaways, inspiration. Tags: , , , , , , , .

you are loved for no reason at all. every child has a song

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hannah Gaitten  |  May 4, 2009 at 5:51 am

    I wish we got more use out of our baby carriers. My daughter loves to be held, just not in a carrier. Ironic since I am such an advocate for babywearing…

    I always enjoy your posts. You are real, but in a positive and inspiring way, and I really appreciate that!

    Reply
    • 2. klaroche  |  May 5, 2009 at 2:50 am

      Thanks so much, Hannah.
      Yes, little Saschy-girl wants to face out and the ergo doesn’t work like that so my left bicep is getting very large! funny, cause rest of me remains very very soft. Baby carrying means any way they want, hey?
      Will you tell me more about your raw eating? How did you start? How do you feel? How much raw are you? Favorite recipes?
      Just if you want….I’d love to hear more.
      with love
      kris

      Reply
      • 3. Hannah Gaitten  |  May 5, 2009 at 6:24 am

        Just like everything else, my raw food diet has been a process. I was so intimidated by it for a long time, afraid to commit. I read The Raw Food Detox Diet by Natalia Rose- this was a great introduction. At that point my goal was raw till dinner. There are a few sites and blogs online that I get great info from, but I really don’t like to spend too much time making the gourmet raw dishes.

        A book that I am currently reading, and highly recommend, is The Live Food Factor- great info! Now that I know more of he science behind cooked food and it’s affect on our bodies, I find that it is easier to avoid the temptations of eating cooked food. Although it is still difficult as my husband eats a 100% cooked diet, and I still cook whatever he wants. I even have to go so far as to not even taste what I am cooking for him, one taste leads to a bite which leads to a belly full of cooked, which make me feel bad, both physically and emotionally (I am too hard on myself…)

        Back in Febuary I attempted to eat 100% raw and did so until my sisters came for a visit and they wanted pizza, and that did me in 🙂 I then started eating a lot more cooked, but also noticed a marked difference in many areas. My weight started to increase immediately, with my belly poking out much more. Also, much more bloating and just a general feeling of heaviness after eating cooked. I ate lasagna for dinner one night and felt sick to my stomach for hours, simply because it was such a difficult meal to digest. My emotional strength was decreased on cooked as was my mental clarity.

        I have been high raw for a few months, but just commited again to going 100% raw, as of May 1. So far, I am feeling so much better just not having any cooked food at all. Even in the past few days, I have more energy and my mood is much lighter and more positive. Now, in addition to eating raw, I need to focus on getting enough rest so my body can really start healing!

        I like to keep my meals simple, even with simple meals, I find I spend a lot of time in the kitchen, which is something I enjoy, so it is not a deterrant for me. I like to start off with a fresh juice, I have lots of apples right now. I mix in a scoop of Amazing Grass SuperFood Green Powder to get more greens in. Next time I’m hungry (which isn’t long for me, I have hypoglycemia so I have to eat pretty frequently), I have a green smoothie with whatever happens to sound good. For the liquid I use live almond or hemp milk that I make every few days. Then I usually either have a salad or veggies with dip. Then another salad for dinner. I like to snack on kale chips (massage kale with a little olive oil and salt and dehydrate until crispy- several hours). When I go out, I always take either a LaraBar or an Amazing Grass Chocolate Green SuperFood Bar, in case I get hungry.

        I’ve made zucchini pasta and a few raw pies and such, but I really stick with salads and wraps as my main courses for meals. I am on a kale/mango salad which I am just loving right now (kale, mango, jicama, cucumber, red onion and mango viniagrette.) Young coconuts are amazing, if you can find them. Kind of laborious to get into, but so worth it!

        For wraps, I use roamine lettuce as the wrap and use whatever veggies I have as the filling. For the sauce, I mix Nama Shoyu (raw soy sauce), maple syrup (not raw, but it makes the sauce wonderful), ginger and garlic. Amazing and simple. I either put avocado in the filling mix or spread raw almond butter on the leave before adding filling (I make the wrap as I eat). So delicious!

        I borrowed The Complete Book of Raw Food from the library and there are lots of great recipes in there as well as info for the starter raw fooder. As I grow in my knowledge, I will incorporate more proper food combining and mono meals and such, but for now, I am happy just eating raw.

        there is a site, http://www.realrawfood.com that I just found that offers truly raw ingredients at good prices. Most of the nuts in the US have been heated, but the products they are offer are truly raw. The quality of their products and their customer service are great.

        Now that I’ve written a novel… I’ll get some of my favorite recipes together and email them to you in the coming days, alongwith the sites that I visit.

        I think some of the keys to raw eating is to not get hungry, to incorporate many more greens into our diet and to keep it simple. It should be easy and fun!

        I am not an expert, but please feel free to ask whatever questions you may have! I love talking about this as I have really experienced such great results!

      • 4. klaroche  |  May 6, 2009 at 3:18 am

        This is sooo fun and helpful, Hannah. Thanks so much. Today I made a shift and felt so happy and energized all day. Not totally raw, but just being more aware of it, and being on top of it, like you said, is really helpful. We made fresh juice smoothies (carrots and ginger and grapefruit juice, homemade yogurt, almonds, spinach, etc..), then I made bliss balls with almonds, raw carob powder, carrot pulp from juicing (loved that!), peanut butter (not raw), coconut. I too adore wraps and love your ideas for them. I’ll start trying more of that. I’ve made some of the gourmet stuff and it is soooo laborious. I imagine more of that when kids are older:) Also ate cooked rice in wraps today, with homemade gomasio. I will slowly keep transitioning because it feels so good. And so much easier in summer!
        Send along ideas, whenever you are able!!!

  • 5. KRISTEN  |  May 5, 2009 at 2:00 am

    Kris, thank you for your always inspiring self…and for always writing things that remind me to be present.
    XOXO
    Kristen

    Reply
    • 6. klaroche  |  May 5, 2009 at 2:52 am

      Hi Kristen…I have jars for you from the raw milk. Delicious! I made yogurt today with the remaining milk that needed to be used. Added honey and vanilla and it is soooo yummy! I will leave jars inside front door so you can pick up whenever you want. Or if you want me to deliver, let me know where. Do you have any leads on raw goat milk?
      Hope you are well, friend. It was so fun to see you, though so brief as always. That seems to be our thing…rushing past and relishing in a moment of connection.
      Kris

      Reply
  • 7. klaroche  |  May 10, 2009 at 4:15 am

    Hey everyone!
    Romy is the winner of the book! Thanks so much for posting this week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



