mama tools

April 21, 2009 at 2:50 am 2 comments

Amazing to me, we are doing this already.
picture-1877

Glued to this being, not yet toddler, hardly still baby, I got caught behind the reality of the moment, yet again. Surprised by my new role of hold-my-hand-today-and-follow-me-where-I-want-to-go-and-help-me-learn-to-stand-on-my-own-two-feet, I realized that I need MORE TOOLS. Unable to reach for tea or phone or anything, Natalie suggested a mama’s tool-belt. She is such a smart cookie, isn’t she?

So, I stayed up rather late last night making this.
picture-1857

picture-1854

It is SO fun and it works!
picture-1875

picture-1873

I used the vintage apron pattern from Bend-the-rules Sewing. Today, I walked around in jagged circles, holding my baby’s hand, with my mama tool-belt fully equipped with sunscreen, both phones, and camera. I’m considering adding a tea pocket tonite.

It got me thinking about how many tools there are for the attachment phase, with helpful baby carriers, and such, and how much fun it would be to have more tools and support for the differentiation phase, when our little ones begin their long dance of growing up, shifting without any predictability between closeness and separation.

For me, this is a challenge, as it asks me to be intensely devoted to following their flow, instead of imposing my own agenda. We each have our own preferences which have little to do with what our children may need on that day. When they wants to move away from me, I breathe deeply, squash the worries in my mind, smile, and trust in their strength and resilience, not wanting to flavour their exploration with my own sadness.

And then, when they want closeness, I trust that too, no matter how much nursing, holding, reassuring, cuddling is wanted. Their development does not and never will happen sequentially, so why be surprised with the two year old nurses fifteen times a night. It is exactly the way it is supposed to be, every time.

The seeker of our time does not enter into an Initiation Temple, but rather, seeks within what could be called ‘The Temple of Life’. Within this, as it manifests today, there are many paths of self development. Motherhood is one of these. Thus is motherhood a high exalted task, one connected with the deepest and most profound issues of life.

j. salter
the incarnating child

Entry filed under: hand made.

my girl i love tuesdays

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hannah  |  April 21, 2009 at 8:23 pm

    I love your Mama tool belt! So much that I am going to start my search for one right now(since my sewing maching is currently out of order). How fun!!!

    Reply
    • 2. klaroche  |  April 22, 2009 at 3:45 am

      oh i’m so glad.
      if you get your machine up and running let me know and i’ll send you the pattern. super easy and fun.
      and really, we ARE neighbours in spirit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed