my girl

April 20, 2009 at 1:59 am 2 comments

picture-1845
I love this girl.

An hour together, just the two of us, in the middle of a sunny Sunday afternoon while the boys are out.
Pure bliss.

Listening to Ani together.

It’s a long, long road.
It’s a big, big world.
We are wise, wise women.
We are giggling girls.

As the boys left, it was tempting to consider getting stuff done, and thankfully I resisted. Sat together in the grass, held out my finger for walking in circles (she’s at that stage already), eating rocks and dirt (of course) watching the chickens, listening to birds, laughing.

You are my girl.
You chose me to be your mama.
How am I so blessed?

When you wave your arm to sign for plane and I do it back to you, and we giggle.

When you sit at the top of the slide, thrilled, scared, trusting me to be the one to keep you safe.

When you clench your fists, turn red, and growl in utter fury, wanting, wanting.

When you say your words…
abhuuuu (balloon)
aiya (isis dog)
aeya (elliott)
huh (with a firm nod for yes, I think)
hahahaha (hot)

When you crawl onto my chest, tired from all your efforts of growing up, close your eyes to nurse, and I think, wow…I get to be your ‘home’.

I’ll tell you one thing, I’m going to make noise when I go down. For ten square blocks, there gonna know that I died. All the goddesses will come up to the ripped screen door and say, ‘what do you want, dear’, and I’ll say, ‘I want inside’.

Thank you for spending some of your sweet life with me.

What are you loving right now about your children?

Entry filed under: family life, inspiration.

chocolate soup mama tools

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hannah  |  April 20, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    I am loving that my daughter and I share sleep together… in fact, she is napping on top of me right now. She gets so busy playing, that I treasure this time when we can be relaxed, so precious.

    I also love that we will be spending lots of time in the garden. I am really enjoying her company and help as we grow our own food together!

    Reply
  • 2. Grandma Linda  |  April 23, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    Beautiful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



