the raw edge of life

April 17, 2009 at 3:45 am 3 comments

picture-1682

picture-1683

Eating raw, living raw.

Raw food is divine, yet not always easy, especially when you live in a cold climate like Montana and when you are also striving to eat local. So, pick and choose from the recipes below to suit your commitment to whatever makes your heart sing.

Our favorite smoothie:

Grind handful of almonds in blender
Add raw apple cider, frozen spinach and berries, yogurt, drizzle of maple syrup and/or banana
Add water, goat milk or other liquid to thin
Hemp seeds and ground flax are optional
(I love the secret greens first thing in the morning!)

Cashew whipped cream
Grind handful of cashews to a powder in blender
(you can presoak nuts for couple of hours)
Slowly drizzle in water or oil (depending on how thick you like it) about 1/4 cup
Add maple syrup to taste (or couple of soaked dates and date water)

Flax crackers
2 cups flax seeds
1/3 cup chopped red bell pepper
1/3 cup cilantro or parsley
1 clove minced garlic
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 cup nama shoyu or 1 teaspoon sea salt

Blend everything except flax seeds. Vary vegetables and herbs according to your preference. Add to bowl with flax seeds. Spread on dehydrator sheets for 4 hours. Cut into shapes then dry until crisp (about 5 hours)

Fake pie crust
2 cups raw almonds
2 cups dates

Soak separately, then blend or chop. Press into pie plate. Add thick layer of cashew cream then raw fruit of your choosing. Berries, bananas, peaches, or whatever. Delicious for breakfast!

There are a few of my favorites. I’m also experimenting with raw pizza, raw sprouted hummus and other treats. Raw food makes my body humm. So unprocessed and close to the Source of things, it just feels right. More recipes can be found here.

Raw living.
To live raw is to be open and undefended. To me, it means that I am moved by life, the beauty of it, the joy, sadness, elation, peace of any moment. That if I am willing to stop the mind chatter, to stop fighting and resisting, and to sink myself into THIS. RIGHT. HERE. then I am, well, so much more.

Every experience and every feeling can either open us to something new, or keep us limited to what is “safe”, “in control”. What if there is no safe?
We recognize our problems and dissatisfactions as wake-up calls pointing out our readiness to come into deeper relationship with some lost aspect of our beings.
Undefended Love

What aspect of your being is lost? What would it take for you to find it?

I remember that I don’t know anything, because when my mind says…oh yeah, I already knew that, or …what is HIS problem, or…this simply HAS to change, then I am operating from my ego, my personality, and I’m closing myself off. Have you noticed that our children don’t do that? They linger at the raw edge of life, poking at every possibility, wanting more. When we say “shhshshs you’re fine” or “stop that” or “good job” or “you can do it”, we are actually shutting them down and teaching them to separate themselves from the Source of things.

The raw edge of life. That’s where I want to be. Will you join me there?

Entry filed under: conscious parenting, nutrition.

four i want to remember

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Theresa  |  April 17, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    I’m trying! I’m trying! Which i guess is the problem right there, hehehehe.

    Reply
    • 2. klaroche  |  April 18, 2009 at 12:34 am

      I’m giggling too.

      Reply
  • […] Raw fruit pie. Elliott gets his beloved sweets and mama watches this boy gobble up brilliant nutrients. Really, is there anything more satisfying than watching your child eat something really, really healthy? (I posted recipe here […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



