four

April 16, 2009 at 1:55 am 2 comments

picture-1721

The number of kiddos here today.
Giffin and Avive were here to play as part of my hours of volunteer exchange for our local community food coop.

The number of languages I’d like to speak.
My mama friend speaks Hebrew to her children. She was telling me about her friend who speaks Italian to children, the papa speaks French, kids speak Hebrew to their friends and learn English in school.

It occurred to me, as I was sitting in dry bath with my two lovelies (we were re-filling it after Sascha poop overwhelmed us), listening to Elliott ask, is it stinky? is it gross?, that our papa speaks one language and I speak another. Their papa says ‘stinky’ and ‘gross’ while I say things like ‘that has a strong odor to my nose’ and ‘gross is simply an opinion’, striving for more of this. Our clients for parenting coaching often come to us with co-parenting struggles, feeling like they have such divergent approaches to parenting. Some of these differences are just fine, Italian and French. Others can be brought into alignment. The trick is knowing which are worthy of change and which are worthy of acceptance.

The number of felt food patterns I just purchased
here

Four is the number of times a day that I could use a reminder to suurrender, with ease, to the greater flow of things. I am so not in control of anything.

The ego cannot survive in an atmosphere of surrender.

approximate quote from Eckhart Tolle

Entry filed under: family life, inspiration. Tags: , , , .

what do we know? the raw edge of life

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Theresa  |  April 18, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    Really? Only four times a day you need that reminder? I don’t know if the number exists for how often I need it 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. klaroche  |  April 19, 2009 at 2:26 am

      well…more accurately: four times a day on average that i remember! heehee. and since the blog was entitled ‘four’…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



