one childhood

April 4, 2009 at 3:18 am 2 comments

Lying in bed last night, nursing Sascha to sleep, and reflecting back through the day, I thought: This is IT.

A life is composed of just one moment after another, simply an accumulation of one moments. There is still a little part of me that is holding out for a different moment than this one. And yet, if I don’t think of this one as THE ONE, then I end up creating their childhoods out of moments that were well, kind of accidental.

So stop waiting, I tell myself.

Be kind now.
Let go of frustration.
Listen with more of yourself.
Play another round of whatever, with pleasure.
Seek ease.

They only get one childhood.

And as we walked down the sidewalk towards the library, the parking ticket person (who was NOT giving us a ticket) said Wow. Look at this. A sweet, friendly dog and two adorable kids. Looks to me like you’ve got it made!

I couldn’t agree more.

Entry filed under: inspiration.

a love story, continued. weekend giveaway!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Grandma Linda  |  April 4, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    How beautiful is this! Wanted to be there with you guys….
    Love you.

    Reply
  • 2. KRISTEN  |  April 5, 2009 at 12:34 am

    Wow to be a child again – I guess if I parent this way, I do get another childhood. Seems like a win-win to me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



