a love story, continued.

April 3, 2009 at 4:25 am 4 comments

Since we are talking about love stories, let’s talk about parenting love stories. I am narrowing my focus with vigilance. I want to see more and more ideal parenting in this world. Wouldn’t that be lovely? To go to the park and feel uplifted, inspired, energized by the quality of interactions you see between the adults and the children playing there? Yes. I want more of that.

This is what I see:

Children who are responded to with adoration.
I see you. Look at who you are. I am so in love with you.

Children who are never, ever left to cry for any reason. Every time they turn around to look for mama or papa, that person, the center of their universe is THERE, open and willing to be there.

Parents who are fulfilled and at peace with being parents. Who long for little because they know that being with their children is something they “get” to do, meaningful and rich just as it is.

Parents feeling connected, supported, energized, part of something vital, part of a community that honours who they are and what they do.

Children who are allowed to feel their feelings, express their wants, be who they are and who are provided with the information they need to understand how the world works.

Parents and children who get to be real, authentic, and who take full responsibility for all of it. Mad, sad, angry, frustrated, disappointed, tired, happy, ecstatic, peaceful, furious, whatever.
I’m feeling mad. I need support. Will you listen to me? Will you hold me?

Stories of home birth, family beds, nursing toddlers, full-time parenting, baby-wearing, unschooling and eating dirt are all NORMAL. (Daycare, strollers, cribs, bottles, hospital births happen, of course, but how different and unusual and rare to hear those stories.)

There is always a place to nurse, where children have seats, toilets, water fountains, play spaces that work for them, where instruments exist to help parents do everything one-handed, because of course they are carrying a child in the other arm.

Yes. It’s true. I do believe there is an ideal way to parent. It IS a love story and the time has come. I am grateful beyond words to be surrounded by such people, living these stories. And delighted to continually meet more of you who are discovering this is how you want to live.

Entry filed under: inspiration.

a love story one childhood

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hannah  |  April 3, 2009 at 9:26 pm

    I love this- you write so eloquently what I feel in my heart.

    I wish we were neighbors… I feel like the odd-man-out parenting the way I do. Thanks for your words- gentleness, wisdom and peace resonates from them!

    Reply
  • 2. Johanna  |  April 4, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    Hi Kris…i’ve been sneaking a peak at your blog every so often and now I find it has become part of my daily routine…thanks for your beautiful creation!…(and that cookie recipe!)…Raffi has recently moved to Salt Spring Island and is opening his Center for Child Honoring. He’s speaking about it April 21st and I’m so excited to hear what it will be all about. For a while I was writing a column for our local paper about creating a “child friendly community” and found Child Friendly International…an organization trying to put all of the beautiful ideas you are mentioning into practice in communities. In our community we’ve started a family fitness group where moms can get some exercise and connect with each other by taking part in a workout in the park with stroller or without with child care provided for older ones to jump around. I love seeing mommas doing their stretches with babe nursing at the same time! We always end the session with some inspiring words read about the beautiful changes in our bodies after we become mothers or some such thing. So I just wanted to pass on these thoughts and connections…and thanks for your inspirations!

    love
    Johanna

    Reply
    • 3. klaroche  |  April 5, 2009 at 4:28 am

      hi johanna. so fun to hear from you. i feel our connection across the mountains and ocean. i adore the child honouring work that raffi is doing. we are all on this path together…i’m so grateful for that.
      with much love to you and your lovelies.
      kris

      Reply
  • 4. Grandma Linda  |  April 4, 2009 at 5:57 pm

    This should be required reading for every parent out there. Keep this beauty up, Kris.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



