what’s possible

December 14, 2008 at 8:34 pm 2 comments

part of our intention is to help child-raising people know what is possible. we can only make informed choices when we know all of what is possible. with respect to babywearing…it is possible to take on this mindset…”i will wake up and put my baby on my body, and when it is time for us to crawl into bed together at night, i will take her off”.

what happens inside you when you consider this?

even better, wear your baby naked against your skin as much as possible, particularly when newly born or when your child isn’t feeling well. go back to the basics of skin on skin whenever possible. the power of touch is not to be underestimated.

babies and young children who are worn consistently learn to use their bodies more effectively and they receive just the right amount of healthy stimulation because they see the world as you move about. this contact also helps you to stay tuned into your baby and to adjust your daily life to suit caring for a small person. do less and be more for your child.

and when your child is older, remember to invite her to be worn again whenever she is unhappy, sick, unsettled, or out of herself (eg..what some might call ‘misbehaving’). tune in and reconnect.

what are your babywearing stories?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

solstice coaching special guest interview with kali wendorf

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Theresa  |  December 17, 2008 at 11:46 am

    I have worn my baby since birth (she just turned one), almost constantly during her first 6 months. But because I am the only person available to do this, I did become very worn out at times. And I was grateful when she started crawling and now walking. I think I was a little too grateful, and barely use my sling anymore, except for nap time. She has been having a few rough days recently, and today I thought that maybe I would try the sling again, even though nap time was hours away. It worked instantly. She sat quietly and happily watched while I moved about getting my work done… and done a lot more efficiently than I have been able to recently with her tugging at my legs every 3 minutes.

    I guess I had forgotten why I started wearing her in the first place. Well, I remembered today. I hope I don’t forget again, and that she forgives me for being a nincompoop.

    It is hard when you are alone and shoulder all the burden (literally). I know that is the price our society pays today for moving away from our ”villages”. And finding the balance can be tough. I dont know that I ever will find it. But as you said ”do less and be more for your child”.

    Reply
  • 2. klaroche  |  December 18, 2008 at 5:16 am

    yes yes…i have had these ‘oh yeah!’ experiences with my 3.5 year old. a few weeks ago he was having such a tough afternoon, crying and just not knowing what he needed. i finally remembered and offered him the ergo (carrier we love) and he looked so relieved. he was on my back while i cooked dinner and baby girl was on the front. it was divine.

    while it can be strenuous, i do believe that our bodies grow progressively stronger in just the right way when we carry them all the time. then as they become more mobile, we unravel the knots and crookedness…it’s all so perfect. though i’ve yet to manifest the weekly massage house-call. then it would be beyond perfect!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



